

Special Administrative Board Safety & Risk Management Committee Meeting August 28, 2014

Administrative Building - 801 N. 11th Street

The Safety & Risk Management Committee meeting convened on the date noted at 3:00 PM.

Members in attendance included: Ruth Carnoske, Steve Harmon, Colleen Reichert, Tom Dressler, Dale Klatt, David Glenn, Dr. Edmond Heatley, Ernest Clark, Charles Burton, Angie Banks, Mary Houlihan, Dr. Beth Bender, Dr. Karessa Morrow

Members absent included: Rick Sullivan, Dr. Adams, Althea Albert-Santiago, Ray Cummings, Mary Armstrong, , Dr. Sarah Briscoe, Jerry Cannon, Misty Dobynes Sgt. David Glenn, Yvonne Green, , Dr. Chip Jones, Dr. Karessa Morrow, Rosmon Johnson, Debra Moran-Reimonenq, Colonel Lisa Taylor-Brown, Sheila Smith-Anderson, Cheryl VanNoy.

The following matters were discussed.

- Incentives: Custodians/Tradesmen, Safety & Security and Schools
- The monthly safety data reports
- Training programs: Safety Handbook and Violent Confrontation

After discussion, the committee agreed to proceed with the following:

- Agreed that there would be exceptions on a case by case basis for some employees hurt on duty.
- Revamp the incentive amounts according to each school's staff headcount which would be more equitable.
- Employees injured at 'host sites' for professional development and/or district business will have their claim counted against their 'home' location not the 'host site'.
- Due dates for review of Safety Handbook will change.
- Training for Violent Confrontation Avoidance and Anti-Bullying will be conducted online via Safe Schools program with completion deadline of Nov. 1st.
- Agreed to address appointment of trainers to reinstitute on-site training.

There being no further business, the meeting adjourned at 4:05PM.